29
Nov
11

Reading; Has It Been Overshadowed and Forgotten?

“What’s a book?”
“It’s like the Internet made from a tree”

Short answer; Yes. It has. With so many games consoles and portable music devices [Thanks a lot, Apple.] reading books has been overshadowed by everything technological.

Now, I admit that I do own my fair share of gadgets, but it really only extends to an Xbox, Laptop and iPod. I’m one of the few people I know that occasionally wants to ignore these and quietly sit with a [possibly] good book. It’s quiet, calming and relaxing, and sometimes they can entertain you better than a violent game.

Sometimes.

When I was younger, I used to read non-stop. When I got a new book chances are that I would have finished by the next day, because I wouldn’t have done anything BUT read it. However, in the last couple of years I’ve begun to get more focused on finishing school and making my way through college, and playing on my Xbox, so I haven’t had as much time to read, although I still enjoy it when I can.

I recently started reading The Dark Tower series, written by Stephen King. It’s weird, funny and kind of creepy at times too, and it’s quite fun to read. I’ve got 3/4 through the book and I’m slowly reaching the end. However I’m still questioning pretty much the entire series because there’s been more questions than answers. I like that as it draws you deeper into the book and it makes you want to carry on reading the series. This is why I sometimes prefer books to video games because they usually don’t draw you in with questions or mystery.

I don’t know what else to say, it’s the reason this hasn’t been posted for nearly three weeks. But I’m sure I got my point across. I hope I did..

1 Response to “Reading; Has It Been Overshadowed and Forgotten?”


  1. December 1, 2011 at 8:36 pm

    Thank you so much for this information. You have given my brain a real workout and I am grateful. I love intelligent content that is so well written. Good job. http://www.samsung1080phdtv.net/


Leave a Reply

Calendar

November 2011
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Short and Quick Thoughts

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers


